2014 World Lacrosse Championship

The 2014 FIL World Lacrosse Championship was held July 10–19, 2014 in Commerce City, Colorado, at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park, home of the Colorado Rapids soccer team. 38 nations participated over 142 games. Nine nations—Belgium, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, Russia, Thailand, Turkey, and Uganda—all competed in the event for the first time.

In the championship game on July 19, 2014, Canada captured its third gold medal after upsetting the United States 8-5 in front of 11,861 fans. Canadian goalie Dillon Ward was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player after he made 10 saves in the championship game, becoming the first goalie to ever receive the honor.

The Iroquois Nationals finished third after defeating Australia 16-5 in the third-place game. It marked the first time the Iroquois ever earned a podium finish at the World Lacrosse Championship, as well as the first time the Australians failed to earn a medal.

A FIL World Lacrosse Festival was once again being run alongside the FIL World Championships and was open to boys‘ and men’s lacrosse teams from around the world to participate in the youth and master’s divisions of the Festival.

Full-event ticket packages were divided into gold, silver and bronze packages. Each package included access to 142 world championship games, the opening ceremony and the closing ceremony, the International Village and the Vendor Village. Four days of the event were played in the 18,000-seat stadium at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park, and two turf fields included grandstand seating. Tickets were required for all world championship games at the park, both games in the stadium and games at the surrounding fields.

Partial-event ticket packages went on sale 12 June 2014.

For the pool play phase of the tournament, nations were separated into nine groups. The countries with the top six rankings—Australia, Canada, England, Iroquois, Japan, and the United States—competed in the Blue Division; the top four teams in this division advanced to the quarterfinals or semifinals automatically.

Play-in games were played between the teams of all groups except Blue.

Despite falling to rival England in the fifth-place game, Scotland earned its best-ever finish at the championships by placing sixth. The Scottish team defeated Japan in the previous contest, and are expected to replace the Japanese in the elite Blue Division at the next world championship tournament.

Playing in its first-ever world championships, Israel very nearly duplicated Scotland’s feat, twice narrowly falling in games that could have advanced the team into the Blue Division. After reaching the quarterfinals, the Israelis led Australia in the third quarter before dropping a tough 9-8 decision. Then in a placement round game, Israel made a dramatic comeback to push England to overtime before suffering a 10-9 setback. Israel finished seventh after defeating Blue Division squad Japan.

The following awards were given out at the end of the tournament.
MVP: Dillon Ward (Canada)
Outstanding Attackman: Rob Pannell (United States)
Outstanding Midfielder: Paul Rabil (United States)
Outstanding Defenseman: Tucker Durkin (United States)
Outstanding Goalie: Dillon Ward (Canada)

The All-World Team consisted of the following players.

Curtis Dickson (Canada)
Rob Pannell (United States)
Lyle Thompson (Iroquois)

Paul Rabil (United States)
Jeremy Thompson (Iroquois)
David Lawson (United States)

Tucker Durkin (United States)
Brodie Merrill (Canada)
Kyle Rubisch (Canada)

Dillon Ward (Canada)

The President’s Team consisted of the following players, honored for being the top 10 players in the tournament not competing in the blue division.
Kyle Buchanan (Scotland)
Ryan Licht (Ireland)
Matt MacGrotty (Scotland)
Jimmy McBride (Scotland)
Jordan McBride (Scotland)
Jonathan Munk (Czech Republic)
Kevin Powers (Sweden)
Ben Smith (Israel)
Ari Sussman (Israel)
James Van de Veerdon (Netherlands)